Wednesday, June 30, 2010

Kansas City Police join statewide impaired driving crackdown July 2-5

Law enforcement officers across Missouri will be cracking down on drunk driving with increased enforcement July 2-5. The Kansas City Missouri Police Department will be participating in this effort and will focus on reducing deaths and serious injuries caused by impaired drivers over the Fourth of July holiday weekend.

It’s never worth the risk to drive while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Drivers could lose their license, pay large fines, or worst of all, cause a tragic loss of life. Consider some of the consequences:

-For the first conviction, or first conviction in over five years, your license will be suspended for 30 days followed by a 60 day suspension if a hardship license is not obtained.

-A second conviction results in a $1,000 fine, a year-long revocation of your license and up to a year in jail. You will also be required to install an ignition interlock system on your vehicle, preventing your car from starting when you have alcohol on your breath.

-Third and subsequent convictions can be penalized with up to a $5,000 fine, a 10 year license denial, and/or up to seven years in jail.

-If you cause a fatal crash with intoxicated, you could be charged with Involuntary Manslaughter, a felony resulting in up to seven years of jail time, a $5,000 fine or both.

-Insurance coverage will be difficult to find, and if you do, the rates will be significantly higher.

For more information on impaired driving visit