Thursday, June 18, 2009

Board of Police Commissioners meeting June 23

Below is the agenda for the June 23 Board of Police Commissioners' monthly meeting. The meeting will take place at 9 a.m. on the sixt floor of Police Headquarters, 1125 Locust St. Public comments will be taken between 10:30 and 11 a.m. :

1. Call to Order – Invocation – Pastor Keith Ratcliffe.

2. Awards and Commendations.

Life-Saving Award
Officer David Loar
Former Officer William Baker

Special Unit Citation
Patrol Video Unit

Meritorious Service Award
Sergeant Lee Richards

Meritorious Service Award
Administrative Assistant Robin Jackson

Meritorious Service Award
Instructor/Gunsmith David Andress

3. Annual Financial Audit, Cochran, Head, Vick & Co., PA.

Mr. David Cochran

4. Legislative Update.
Mr. Andy Arnold
Mr. Woody Cozad
Mr. Jewell Patek

5. Approval of Minutes.
a. April 28, 2009 Board Meeting.
b. May 14, 2009 Business Session.
c. May 26, 2009 Board Meeting.

6. Mr. Gary White, City Auditor.

a. Monthly Status Report.
b. General Discussion.

7. Councilwoman Cathy Jolly - Committee on Public Safety and Neighborhoods.

8. Red Light Cameras.
Mr. Stan Harris
Mr. Gregory Rokos

9. CIMO Report.
Mr. Eric Bosch

10. Ms. I. Pearl Fain – Office of Community Complaints.

a. General Discussion.

11. Chief James Corwin
a. Blueprint for the Future.
b. Budget Update FY 2010.
c. General Discussion.

12. Deputy Chief Nick Nichols – Executive Officer.

a. Monthly Report OCC Investigations.
b. General Discussion.

13. Deputy Chief Cyril Ritter – Patrol Bureau.

a. Crime Summary
b. Performance Report.
c. General Discussion.

14. Deputy Chief Kevin Masters – Investigations Bureau.

a. Arrest Summary.
b. General Discussion.

15. Deputy Chief Rachel Whipple – Administration Bureau.

a. Personnel Summary.
b. Project #279, Revision of Procedural Instruction 07-3, Persons with Mental and/or Substance Abuse Disorders.
c. Project #289, Revision of Procedural Instruction 06-12, Call Prioritization.

16. Deputy Chief Darryl Forte´ – Executive Services Bureau.

a. Drug Abuse Resistance Education (DARE) Award.
b. Acceptance of the Midwest HIDTA Investigative Support Center Initiative Cooperative Agreement.
c. Award for Mobile Data Computers Traffic Grant.
d. Supplemental Appropriations for Fiscal Year 2009-10.
e. Budget Transfers for Fiscal Year 2009-10.
f. Mid-America Regional Council (MARC) Donation.
g. Budget Summary Report for the Month of May.
h. FY 10 Budget Implementation Timeline.
i. Design Services Agreement with Hoefer Wysocki Architects, Re: New South Patrol Division and Special Operations Division.
j. Jail Consolidation.

17. Ms. Lisa S. Morris.

a. Private Officer License Appeal, Leaman D. Wilson.
b. Private Officer License Appeal, Kimberly Haywood.
c. Private Officer License Appeal, Christian Haley.
d. Private Officer License Appeal, B & E Armed Security Service.

18. Retirement Study Survey.

19. Public Comments

20. Scheduled Meetings:

Friday, July 24, 2009
Tuesday, August 25, 2009
9:00 a.m., 6th Floor, Board Room

Business Session:

Thursday, July 9, 2009
8:30 a.m., 6th Floor, Board Room

Audit Committee Meeting.

Thursday, July 9, 2009
10:00 a.m., 6th Floor, Board Room

21. Audit Committee Report.

22. Jennifer Atterbury.

23. Chief James Corwin.

24. Mayor Mark Funkhouser.

25. Commissioner Karl Zobrist.

26. Commissioner James B. Wilson.

27. Commissioner Mark C. Thompson.

28. Commissioner Patrick A. McInerney.

29. Motion to go into Closed Session.

30. Informational Items:
a. article, “Police officers saved by stimulus may still lose jobs.”
b. Project #346, Proposed Procedural Instruction, Adult Missing Persons.
c. Facility Usage, July 2009.
d. PAL/D.A.R.E. Program and Event Calendar.
e. May 2009 News Coverage.
f. 311 Action Center Complaint Response by Parking Control Section.
g. Status of Public Safety Sales Tax at the end of April and May.
h. KCPD Grant Summary 06/08/09.
i. Donated Property Summary Report.
j. Sole Source Purchase of DNA Analysis Software and Training.