Monday, April 19, 2010

KCPD shines spotlight on sexual assault awareness in ribbon campaign


The Kansas City Police Department is joining 32 other area law enforcement agencies and the Metropolitan Organization to Counter Sexual Assault (MOCSA) to put a spotlight on sexual assault awareness April 19-23.

Officers from the agencies listed below will tie teal ribbons to the spotlights of their patrol cars April 19-23 as part of the Spotlight on Sexual Assault Ribbon Campaign to show support for the victims of sexual violence. The campaign kicked off at 1 p.m. April 19 with a press conference featuring vehicles and representatives from participating law enforcement agencies and commanders of the sex crimes units of the Kansas City Missouri and Overland Park Police Departmentsat the Kansas City Regional Police Academy.
The Ribbon Campaign highlights law enforcement’s commitment to ending sexual violence in the community, in partnership with MOCSA. It’s part of Sexual Assault Awareness Month, a time that recognizes and empowers victims of sexual assault.

Kansas City, Mo., saw an 11 percent increase in reported forcible rapes from 2008 to 2009 but a slight decrease in all other sex crimes.

“We’re pleased to join with other law enforcement agencies throughout the Kansas City area to deliver the message that sex crimes will not be tolerated, and we will do everything we can to bring the perpetrators to justice and bring support to the victims,” said Captain Mark Folsom, Commander of KCPD’s Special Victims Unit.

The participating agencies include:

From Missouri:
Belton Police Dept.
Cass County Sheriff's Dept.
Clay County Park Rangers
Gladston Public Safety
Grain Valley Police Dept.
Independence Police Dept.
Jackson County Sheriff's Dept.
Kansas City Missouri Police Dept.
Oak Grove Police Dept.
Parkville Police Dept.
Peculiar Police Dept.
Platte City Police Dept.
Platte County Sheriff's Office
Pleasant Hill Police Dept.
Raymore Police Dept.
Raytown Police Dept.
Riverside Dept. of Public Safety
Sugar Creek Police Dept.
Tracy Police Dept.
University of Missouri-Kansas City Police Dept.

From Kansas:
Fairway Police Dept.
Gardner Public Safety Dept.
Johnson County Sheriff's Office
Kansas City Kansas Police Dept.
KU Medical Center Campus Police
Lenexa Police Dept.
Olathe Police Dept.
Osawatamie Police Dept.
Overland Park Police Dept.
Paola Police Dept.
Prairie Village Police Dept.
Wyandotte County Sheriff's Office